Water for Food

WARI Program


Several WARI program participants pictured after the August 24, 2016 Lunch and Learn event. Front row: Dan Snow, director of laboratory services, Water Sciences Laboratory, UNL; Manish Kumar, WARI fellow; Jesse Starita, education/outreach associate, Water for Food Institute; Rajesh Singh, WARI fellow. Middle row: Chittaranjan Ray, director, Nebraska Water Center, UNL; Rajeev Pratap Singh, WARI fellow; Sanjeeb Mohapatra, WARI intern; Himanshu Kumar Khuntia, WARI intern. Back row: Pat Shea, professor, School of Natural Resources, UNL; Alan Kolok, professor, Biology, UNO; Khalid Muzamil Gani, WARI intern; Arindam Malakar, WARI intern. Also pictured is Rufai Ayuba, visiting scholar, Water Sciences Laboratory, UNL.


Water is a vital necessity for human development, the environment and the economy. Because of its global importance, the Department of Science and Technology, the government of India, the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, the Robert B. Daugherty Water for Food Institute and the Indo-US Science and Technology Forum have partnered to foster cooperation between students and scientists from both countries. The Water Advanced Research and Innovation (WARI) Fellowship Program is a dynamic and transformative program for students who want to pursue advanced academic research and/or other water-related careers.

The goal of this program is to provide opportunities to the best and brightest Indian students and scientists to gain exposure and access to world class research facilities at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. WARI will promote research and capacity building in the area of water, encourage and motivate outstanding students to take up research as a career path and pave the way for next generation scientists from India to interact with American peers, thus helping to build long-term R&D linkages and collaborations. The program will last a minimum of 3 months and a maximum of 6 months for internships and 12 months for fellowships.

Copyright © 2017 · University of Nebraska Board of Regents.