Water for Food

Who We Are


Roberto Lenton
Founding Executive Director
Board of Directors  
Mogens Bay
Chairman, Robert B. Daugherty Charitable Foundation
James B. Milliken
Chancellor of The City University of New York
Hank Bounds
President, University of Nebraska
Jeff Raikes, Chair
Co-Founder, Raikes Foundation
International Advisory Panel  
View individual bios  
Margaret Catley-Carlson
Vice Chair, Canadian Water Network
Colin Chartres
Director of Training and Master Classes, Crawford Fund, Australia; Adjunct Professor, Institute of Applied Ecology, University of Canberra
Marcos Folegatti
Professor of Biosystems Engineering, University of São Paulo, Brazil
Bashir Jama
Director of Soil Health Program, Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa, Kenya
Uma Lele
Independent Scholar and Development Economist, Washington, D.C.
Martin Pasman

President, Valmont Industries de Argentina
Peter Rogers
Gordon McKay Research Professor, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Harvard University
Pasquale Steduto
Deputy Regional Representative for the Near East & North Africa Region, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, Egypt

Faculty Advisory Panel  
Tala Awada
Professor, School of Natural Resources and interim associate dean for the Agricultural Research Division
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Kenneth Cassman
Professor, Agronomy and Horticulture
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Dean Eisenhauer
Professor, Dept. of Biological Systems Engineering and School of Natural Resources
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Lilyan Fulginiti
Professor, Dept. of Agricultural Economics
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Alan Kolok
Director of UNO’s Nebraska Watershed Network and interim director of UNMC’s Center for Environmental Health and Toxicology
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Peter Longo
Professor, Dept. of Political Science
University of Nebraska at Kearney
Bob Oglesby
Professor, School of Natural Resources and Dept. of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Pinaki Panigrahi
Professor, Dept. of Epidemiology and Pediatrics and director of the Center for Global Health and Development
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Sandra Zellmer
Professor, Nebraska College of Law
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Water for Food Institute  
Roberto Lenton
Founding Executive Director &
Robert B. Daugherty Chair
Nicholas Brozović
Director of Policy
Janet Means
Administrative Specialist
Craig Eiting
Web Developer and Graphic Design Specialist
Molly Nance
Public Relations & Communications Director
Karen Hansen
Proposal Development Coordinator
Christopher Neale
Director of Research
Rachael Herpel
Research and Outreach Coordinator
Jesse Starita
Education/Outreach Specialist
Dana Ludvik
Communications and Marketing Specialist
Richael Young
Program Associate
View Student Interns  
Nebraska Water Center  
The Nebraska Water Center was established in 1964 by Congressional mandate as one of 54 Water Resources Research Institutes in the United States. It supports the University of Nebraska as an international leader in water research, teaching, extension and outreach.
Chittaranjan Ray
Director, Nebraska Water Center
Steven W. Ress
Communication Coordinator
Daniel Snow
Director, Water Sciences Laboratory
Tricia Liedle
Program Assistant

Faculty Fellows

DWFI Faculty Fellows are faculty within the University of Nebraska system who contribute to the Institute’s research, scholarship, engagement and education programs. Faculty Fellow status gives formal recognition of an individual’s accomplishments and expertise and includes the Fellow in a community of faculty with complementary interests. It is intended for faculty who collaborate with the Institute for a sustained period of time. Appointments are non-salaried and made for one year, beginning January 1.

View Faculty Fellows

Faculty Affiliates

DWFI Faculty Affiliates are faculty within the University of Nebraska system who express interest in participating in DWFI research, education, and engagement programs. These individuals play an important role in the Institute’s ability to build bridges across academic disciplines to find solutions to the water for food challenge. Faculty Affiliates include, but are not limited to, faculty members who identify with the DWFI mission and vision, have received DWFI competitive grants funding, collaborated with DWFI on developing and submitting grant proposals, or hold positions supported by the Water Resources Research Initiative Program of Excellence.


  • Eligibility to apply to DWFI competitive research and education/engagement grants programs
  • Eligibility to apply for funding for DWFI Undergraduate Scholars and DWFI Graduate Research Assistantships
  • Involvement in transdisciplinary research dialogues
  • Participation on DWFI collaborative research teams
  • Participation in the global Water for Food Conference and other DWFI-sponsored forums and programs

DWFI also connects faculty affiliates with external partners and experts and fosters communication among faculty affiliates on the NU campuses.

To learn more, contact Rachael Herpel at (402) 472-4977 or rherpel@nebraska.edu.

View Faculty Affiliates

The University of Nebraska

Founded in Lincoln, Nebraska, in 1869, the University of Nebraska (NU) is a four-campus, public university that serves the citizens of Nebraska through quality teaching, research, outreach and engagement. One of the early land-grant universities, founded less than two years after Nebraska became the nation’s 37th state, NU is the state’s only public university. The University of Nebraska-Lincoln was the first institution west of the Mississippi River to offer graduate education.  The university’s medical center in Omaha was founded in 1902 and given its own campus by legislative act in 1968 at the same time that the University of Nebraska at Omaha was added to the university.  In 1991, the University of Nebraska at Kearney became a campus of the university.  Today, the University of Nebraska system has a total enrollment of 50,000 students, 4,500 faculty and an annual budget of $1.8 billion.  The four campuses that make up the NU system are:

University of Nebraska–Lincoln, the state’s land grant and comprehensive research institution
University of Nebraska Medical Center, the state’s only public academic health sciences center
University of Nebraska at Omaha, a comprehensive metropolitan university in the state’s largest city
University of Nebraska at Kearney, a public, residential, mid-sized, comprehensive university in central Nebraska emphasizing undergraduate education

With a total enrollment of 50,000 students and an employee base of 13,000 individuals, NU is one of the largest universities in the country.

The Water for Food Institute is a proud member of:
Impression global-water-partnership US_Water-web

Copyright © 2015 · University of Nebraska Board of Regents. admin