Water for Food

Faculty Fellows

Water for Food Global Institute Faculty Fellows are faculty within the University of Nebraska system who contribute to the institute’s research, scholarship, engagement and education programs. Faculty Fellow status gives formal recognition of an individual’s accomplishments and expertise and includes the Fellow in a community of faculty with complementary interests. It is intended for faculty who collaborate with the institute for a sustained period of time. Appointments are non-salaried and made for one year, beginning January 1.

Sort By Alphabetical Order

* Featured Fellows


P. Stephen Baenziger
Agronomist and Wheat Breeder

Guillermo Baigorria *
Crop Simulation Modeler

Vijendra Boken
Remote Sensing & Water Resources Expert

Edgar Cahoon
Plant Geneticist

Kenneth Cassman

Dean Eisenhauer
Irrigation Engineer

Roger Elmore *
Cropping Systems Agronomist

Roch Gaussoin

Patricio Grassini *
Cropping Systems Agronomist

Derek Heeren *
Irrigation Engineer

Adam Liska
Biological Systems Engineer

Martha Mamo
Soil Scientist

Derrel Martin
Irrigation and Water Resources Engineer

Teshome Regassa

Daran R. Rudnick
Irrigation/Water Management Specialist

James Schnable
Irrigation/Water Management Specialist

Harkamal Walia
Plant Molecular Physiologist

Charles Wortmann

Haishun Yang *
Crop and Ecosystem Modeler

Bing Wang
Assistant Professor, Department of Food Science and Technology, UNL

Daniel Schachtman
Professor, Department of Agronomy & Horticulture, UNL

Tim Shaver
Associate Professor, Agronomy & Horticulture, West Central Research & Extension Center, UNL

Jayne Stratton
Research Associate Professor, Food Processing Center


Craig Allen
Wildlife Ecologist

Tala Awada
Plant Ecologist

John Carroll
Wildlife Ecologist

Trenton Franz *

Sherilyn Fritz

Brian Fuchs

Michael Hayes
Climatologist and Atmospheric Scientist

Troy E. Gilmore
Groundwater Hydrologist

Priscilla Grew

Ayse Kilic
Remote Sensing Expert

Alan Kolok
Aquatic Toxicologist

Jesse Korus
Groundwater Hydrologist

Aaron Mittelstet
Watershed Hydrologist

Francisco Muñoz-Arriola

Robert Oglesby
Climate Modeler

Pat Shea
Environmental Chemist

John (Jack) Shroder

Andrew Suyker

Mark Svoboda

Tsegaye Tadesse

Elizabeth VanWormer

Brian Wardlow
Remote Sensing Expert

Don Wilhite

Wayne E. Woldt
Environmental Engineer

Vitaly Zlotnik

Art Zygielbaum
Remote Sensing Specialist

Steve Thomas
River/Stream Ecologist

Clinton Rowe
Professor and Graduate Chair, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences, UNL

Christine Reed
Public and Environmental Policy Analyst

Health, Science & Engineering

David Admiraal
Environmental Engineer

Shannon Bartelt-Hunt
Environmental Engineer

Mohamed Dahab
Environmental Engineer

Carrick Detweiler
Computer Scientist and Roboticist

Bruce Dvorak
Environmental Engineer

James Goedert
Construction Engineer

Junke Guo
Environmental Engineer

Christopher Gustafson
Behavioral Economist

Pinaki Panigrahi
Epidemiologist and Pediatrician

Helen Raikes
Child Development and Early Education Specialist

Eleanor Rogan
Public and Environmental Health Expert

Karrie Weber

Mehmet Can Vuran
Computer Scientist and Electrical Engineer

Policy & Social Science

J. David Aiken
Water and Agricultural Law Specialist

Simanti Banerjee
Behavioral and Environmental Economist

Jean Cahan
Religious and Historical Philosopher

Judy Diamond
Science Literacy Educator

Michael Farrell
Documentary Filmmaker

Cory Forbes
Science Literacy Educator

Michael Forsberg
Wildlife Photographer and Ecologist

Lilyan Fulginiti
Agricultural Economist

Peter Longo
Environmental Policy Analyst

Patrice McMahon
Political Scientist

Patrick McNamara
Political Scientist

Sarah Michaels
Political Scientist

Taro Mieno
Agricultural Economist

Richard Perrin
Agricultural Economist

Lia Nogueira-Rodriguez
Food and Agricultural Trade Economist

Nancy Shank
Public Policy Analyst

Karina Schoengold
Environmental and Resource Economist

Anthony Schutz
Agricultural and Environmental Law Specialist

Alan Tomkins
Psychologist and Public Policy Analyst

Mary Willis

Sandra Zellmer
Natural Resources Legal Scholar

Harvey Perlman
Professor, College of Law and former Chancellor, UNL

Ashok Samal
Professor, Computer Science & Engineering, UNL

Xu Li
Associate Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, UNL

Yusong Li
Associate Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, UNL

Concetta DiRusso
Professor, Department of Biochemistry, UNL

Paul Black
Charles Bessey Professor of Biological Chemistry, Chair of the Department of Biochemistry, UNL

Yufeng Ge
Advanced Sensing Systems Engineer

Roberto Lenton
Professor, Department of Biological Systems Engineering, UNL

Andrea Erin Bass
Assistant Professor, Management, UNO

Lorena Baccaglini

Ozgur Araz
Systems Scientist and Business Analyst


Copyright © 2017 · University of Nebraska Board of Regents.